Young Writers’ Competition Winners

A highlight of the Story Book Picnic was the presentation of prizes to the winners of the Young Writers’ Competition 2014 by Barossa Council Mayor Brian Hurn and Councillor Michael Seager:  First prize in each section was a Kobo e-reader donated by The Co-Op and minor prizes some beautiful books donated by Vinpac International.  In addition the prize of “A Reporter for a Day” was a presented by The Barossa and Light Herald, while a special prize of a Commendation for Poetry was donated by the Friends of the Barossa Library.

Winners were:  Aged up to 8 Years:  1st Samantha Lane of Hewwett, “Once There Was”; 2nd Alysha Seager of Mount Pleasant “the Lion Sisters”; and 3rd Jed Laycock of Lyndoch “The Old Ogre”.

9 to 12 years:  1st Elisheba Gore of Williamstown “Caught In the Back Paddock”; 2nd Laura Emms of Lyndoch “Dark Waters”; 3rd Eleanor Linke of Rowland Flat “A Day In the Life of Gyp”

13 to 15 years: 1st  Rhiana Broadwood of Tanunda “The Immortal Legend”;  2nd Lillian Fryer of Lyndoch “Dark Waters”; 3rd Isabella Bristow of Lyndoch “My Life Without Her” .

16 to 20 years:  1st Georgia Lawrie of Tanunda “The Promise”; 2nd Kate Wendt-dearlove of Nuriootpa “Haumnted”; and 3rd Gemma Schrapel of Nuriootpa “The Angel”

Reporter For a Day Award:  Georgia Lawrie

Special Commendation:  Caitlin Heppner of Nuriootpa.

Congratulations to all the winners!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *